This nominees for this year’s Edmonton Music Awards have been announced, and there are a TONNE of former SONiC Bands of the Month in the running!

Congratulations to Mitchmatic, Royal Tusk, The Gibson Block, The Wet Secrets, Jay Sparrow, Tupelo Honey,  Scenic Route to Alaska, Nature of, The Royal Foundry, The Red Cannons, White Lightning, and all of the other incredible nominees – the awards will be handed out on June 14th at the Royal Alberta Museum.  Learn more about the awards, and find out how you can vote for the Fan’s Choice, HERE!



Album of the Year
Mitchmatic – “A Night Lost”
Royal Tusk – “Mountain”
The Dungarees – “Ain’t Through Being Happy Yet”
The Gibson Block – “The Gibson Block”
The Wet Secrets – “Free Candy”

Single of the Year
Bryan Finlay – “Good Times”
Joe Nolan – “Tightrope Dancer”
Royal Tusk – “Shadow of Love”
The Dungarees – “Ain’t Through Being Happy Yet”
Tupelo Honey – “These Walls”

Group of the Year
Hey Romeo
Royal Tusk
Scenic Route to Alaska
The Dungarees
The Wet Secrets

Male Artist of the Year
Braden Gates
Bryan Finlay
Jay Sparrow
Joe Nolan
Mike McDonald

Female Artist of the Year
Ann Vriend
Colleen Brown
Kimberly MacGregor
Livy Jeanne
Nuela Charles

Rising Star Award
Rachel Woznow
Rebecca Lappa
Savage Playground
Shay Esposito

Adult Alternative Recording of the Year
Axiomatik – “Crop Circles”
F&M – “And We Will Mend Our Broken Hearts”
Mary-Lee Bird – “The Privilege of Relapse”
Marystown – “Carry the Thief”
Rebecca Lappa – “Queen of the May”

Pop Recording of the Year
Ann Vriend – “You Can Have Me”
Bryan Finlay – “Good Times
RAANI – “Be Your Friend”
Rachel Woznow – “Big & Loud”
Scenic Route to Alaska – “Paris”

Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year
Brothers Grim – “Pride”
Chips – “In Too Deep”
Mitchell Lawler – “Conehead”
Mitchmatic – “A Night Lost”
Rellik – “Money”

Country Recording of the Year
Hey Romeo – “Won’t Be Over You”
Jay Sparrow – “Radio”
Marystown – “Anything For You”
Melody Loveyjoy – “I’m Letting Go”
The Dungarees – “Ain’t Through Being Happy Yet”

Roots/Folk Recording of the Year
Braden Gates – “Life’s A Picture”
Colleen Brown – “Mountain Man”
Joe Nolan – “Tightrope Dancer”
Nature of – “Winter, Winter”
The Royal Foundry – “All We Have”

Rock Recording of the Year
Royal Tusk – “Shadow of Love”
The Gibson Block – “She Don’t Ask Why”
The Red Cannons – “Sheepdog”
Tupelo Honey – “These Walls”
Whale and the Wolf – “Do It Loud”

Metal Recording of the Year
Elements – “Labels”
KingDoom – “Hate Is Love”
Monarch Sky – “Addict”
Striker – “Crossroads”
Vanity Red – “Price to Pay”

Blues Recording of the Year
Dan Sinasac – “The Chase”
Rita McDade & The Fusion Blues Band – “Stop What Ya Doin’ To Me”
Rita McDade & The Fusion Blues Band – “Train Home”
Tony Kaye – “Boredom Is the Devil’s Tool”

Jazz Recording of the Year
Audrey Ochoa – “Snap, Crackle, Flop”
Craig Brenan  – “Rocket Sauce”
Jim Head – “Zoetrope”
Mike Morriseau Trio – “Tree City”
Paul Ledding  – “He’s Not the One”

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Janay Thomas – “The Way I Feel”
Kimberley MacGregor – “Hope Displaced”
Mieke Maligne – “My Call Goes”
Nuela Charles – “Speak”
The Almighty Turtlenecks – “That’s Where You’re Wrong”

DJ/Electronic Recording of the Year
BMB SHL – “Safe Place Song”
Cygnets – “Gallows”
HLDN – “In the Stars”
Reindeer – “Rocka”
Super GNARLY – “Calculate the Volume Without the Weight”

Music Video of the Year
Colleen Brown – “Mountain Man”
Kevin Maimann – “Pretty Things”
Striker – “Start Again”
The Wet Secrets – “Nightlife”
White Lightning – “1979”

Artist to Watch
Brother Octopus
Danielle Marie
Electric Religious
Julie Nicholson

People’s Choice (determined by online voting via YEGLive)
Amy van Keeken
Ann Vriend
Brittney Grabil
Brother Octopus
Candace Brown
Candice Ryan
Colleen Brown
Death By Robot
Deuce Fantastick
Ego the Jackal
Emo LeBlanc
Fools Tongue
Gateway Blvd
Hey Romeo
I Am Machi
Jay Sparrow
Joe Nolan
K Riz
Kaley Bird
Kevin Maimann
Lisa Nicole Grace
Livy Jeanne
Madi Allen
Marco Claveria Project
Mary-Lee Bird
MayDay and the BeatCreeps
Melody Lovejoy
Mike McDonald
Mitchell Lawler
Monarch Sky
My Sister Ocean
Nature Of
Owls By Nature
Paul Ledding
Pistols At 20 Paces
RC Sindicate
Royal Tusk
Sam Spades
Scenic Route to Alaska
Six String Loaded
Something Mechanical
The Dungarees
The Gibson Block
The Orchard
The Red Cannons
The Rigid
The Secretaries
The Township
The Wet Secrets
Tupelo Honey
Vanity Red
Whale and the Wolf
White Lightning
Wilfred N & the Grown Men
You Are An Explorer