Your 2017 Edmonton Music Awards nominees just dropped. The city’s music scene is more talent packed than ever. Get to know some of the city’s top talent below. This year’s Gala is June 29th. More information HERE.



The 2017 Edmonton Music Awards Nominees are:


Album of the Year

100 mile house – Hiraeth


Altameda – Dirty Rain

Royal Tusk – DealBreaker

Scenic Route To Alaska – Long Walk Home

Striker – Stand in the Fire



Single of the Year
Dan Davidson – Found
Nuela Charles – Crumbling Down
Royal Tusk – Curse The Weather
Scenic Route To Alaska – Love Keeps
The Dungarees – I’m Down

Group of the Year
100 mile house
Royal Tusk
Scenic Route To Alaska
The Dungarees

Female Artist of the Year
Amy van Keeken
Ann Vriend
Billie Zizi
Eva Foote
Nuela Charles

Male Artist of the Year
Arlo Maverick
Dan Davidson
Jay Gilday
Martin Kerr
Mohsin Zaman


Pop Recording of the Year
Bryan Finlay – Legends
Jesse And The Dandelions – True Blue
Nuela Charles – Crumbling Down
Scenic Route To Alaska – Coming Back
Tropic Harbour – Now I See

Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year
Arlo Maverick – Too Many Too’s (feat. K-Riz)
Conch – Right
K-Riz – Levitate
Moto – Million
Rellik – The Hour (Mama’s Song)

Country Recording of the Year
Ayla Brook & The Sound Men – Hold On
Dan Davidson – Found
Olivia Rose – Please Maybe
The Dungarees – I’m Down
The Misery Mountain Boys – Canadian Whiskey

Metal Recording of the Year
All Else Fails – The Forever Lie
Black Friday – Suffering In Stereo
Juliet Ruin – Rogue Down
Silence The Machine – Lost
Striker – Phoenix Lights

Indigenous Recording of the Year
Cindy Paul – The Flight
Jay Gilday – Alleys and Rocks
nêhiyawak – Tommaso
Rellik – The Hour (Mama’s Song)
Stephanie Harpe Experience – Rezz Rock

World Music Recording of the Year
Flavours – The Grit
Kent Sangster’s Obsessions Octet – Milonga del Angel
Mohsin Zaman – Darkest Days
Souljah Fyah – All Is Still
The Mbira Renaissance Band – Chemutengure

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Boogie Patrol – Player’s Blues
Carter & The Capitals – Take You For A Ride
Danny Cash – I Don’t Wanna Lie
Mercy Funk – Hey!
Nuela Charles – Crumbling Down

DJ/Electronic Recording of the Year
ANZU – Stereophonic (feat. Vissia)
Borys – 1920
Brother Octopus – Rebels (feat. A Gentleman’s Pact)
J-Hamz & Jaculator – I’d Do Anything (feat. Michelle Molineux)
TERRIAN – I’ll Remember

Jazz Recording of the Year
Elliot Thomas – Pull Devil, Pull Baker
Kent Sangster’s Obsessions Octet – A Matter Of Time
Mallory Chipman – Angular Symphony
Ryan Davidson Trio – Thom Ripley
Seeka Reid – Time (Don’t Let Me Go)

Singer/Songwriter of the Year
Ayla Brook – Hold On
Eva Foote – Funeral Walking
Jay Gilday – Alleys And Rocks
Martin Kerr – The Update
Mohsin Zaman – Dear Little Darling

Rising Star (18 and Under)
Benjamin Williams – If You Wonder Why
Hailey Benedict – Clean Slate
Krissy Feniak – Always Been You
Lia Cole – You Lost Me
Olivia Rose – Please Maybe

Roots/Folk Recording of the Year
100 mile house – Hidden Springs
Amy van Keeken – All The Time
Jay Gilday – Waking Up
John Guliak – Triptych
Mohsin Zaman – Hey

Adult Alternative Recording of the Year
Ariana Brophy – Naked
Eva Foote – Funeral Walking
Mohsin Zaman – Oh Muddy Water
Short Of Able – Broadway
SoapBox Duo – Complexion

Indie Rock Recording of the Year
Counterfeit Jeans – Sleep
Diamond Mind – Horseless Coach
Jesse And The Dandelions – True Blue
Scenic Route To Alaska – Love Keeps
Wares – Beach Date

Rock Recording of the Year
Altameda – Borrowed Suit, Secondhand Dress
Archaics – Not For Nothing
Mild Barbarians – Make It On My Own
nêhiyawak – Tommaso
Royal Tusk – Curse The Weather

Music Video of the Year
Dan Davidson – Found
Jesse and the Dandelions – No Fun
Punch Drunk Cabaret – Beard of Bees
Savage Playground – Could’ve Been Me
Scenic Route To Alaska – Love Keeps

Artist to Watch
Andrea Nixon
Arlo Maverick
Jay Gilday
Mitchell Lawler
The New Haunts

People’s Choice – Winner To Be Determined By Online Fan Vote.  Click here to vote!
Andrea Nixon
Anna McBryan
Arlo Maverick
Ayla Brook & The Sound Men
Boogie Patrol
Brooke Woods
Cadillac Junkies
Carter & the Capitals
Cindy Paul
Corvus The Crow
Defend The Rhino
Derina Harvey Band
Electric Audrey 2
Elliot Thomas
Good Nature
Hail Taxi
Hailey Benedict
Hitched and the Chains
Jay Gilday
Jesse Werkman
John Wiebe
Karly Hope
Khaled Rahime
Kristen McArthur
Letters From Pluto
Lia Cole
Lusitania Lights
Lutra Lutra
Mad Orca
Mallory Chipman
Mercy Funk
Mike Dominey
Mitchell Lawler
Nebular Wave
Our Good Wolf
Rachel Woznow
Railtown Park
Rebecca Lappa
Red Hot Gospel
Roger West
Royal Tusk
Savage Playground
Scenic Route to Alaska
Seeka Reid
Shay Esposito
Short of Able
Soap Box Duo
Souljah Fyah
Stephanie Harpe
Steve Newsome
The Dungarees
The Mbira Renaissance Band
the original CHU
The Rural Routes
Tom Thompson
We Were Friends
White Lightning
Ya Boy Gillie

Filed under: Edmonton Music Awards