Today (September 9th) Gorillaz released a brand new song called “Strange Timez” featuring The Cure’s Robert Smith. This is part of a series of musical collaborations they call Song Machine. The band purposely chose against having a set release schedule promising a “spontaneous delivery of episodes throughout the year”.

“We did this tune with Robert completely by email,” Damon Albarn said today on BBC Radio 6 Music. Robert Smith chimed in, “I loved it! I thought it was excellent. I felt ripples in the force and I thought, ‘I better get this done’.”

You can listen to the song and watch the music video below.

“Strange Timez” is the sixth episode of the series and the title track of Season One of Song Machine.

The tracklist was released today, and shows that the album will also include artists like Beck and Elton John. Even though “Strange Timez” wasn’t the first song released, it’s the title track and first song on the album.

The album will be released October 23rd, 2020. Here is the tracklist:

1. “Strange Timez” – ft. Robert Smith
2. “The Valley of The Pagans” – ft. Beck
3. “The Lost Chord” – ft. Leee John
4. “Pac-Man” – ft. ScHoolboy Q
5. “Chalk Tablet Towers” – ft. St Vincent
6. “The Pink Phantom” – ft. Elton John and 6LACK
7. “Aries” – ft. Peter Hook and Georgia
8. “Friday 13th” – ft. Octavian
9. “Dead Butterflies” – ft. Kano and Roxani Arias
10. “Désolé” – ft. Fatoumata Diawara (Extended Version)
11. “Momentary Bliss” – ft. slowthai and Slaves

There will also be a deluxe edition of the album with six added songs:

12. “Opium” – ft. EARTHGANG
13. “Simplicity” – ft. Joan As Police Woman
14. “Severed Head” – ft. Goldlink and Unknown Mortal Orchestra
15. “With Love To An Ex” – ft. Moonchild Sanelly
16. “MLS” – ft. JPEGMAFIA and CHAI
17. “How Far?” – ft. Tony Allen and Skepta

You can pre-order the entire first season of Song Machine here.

Filed under: Gorillaz, Robert Smith, Song Machine