After weeks of suspense, The Tragically Hip have finally revealed what they had been teasing. On October 16, Gord Downie’s album, Away is Mine, will arrive posthumously.

The songs were recorded at the Hip’s Bathhouse Studios in August 2017, a mere two months before he passed away in October 2017.

The double album promises electric and acoustic versions of all ten songs.

Guitarist/co-writer Josh Finlayson and Downie’s brother Patrick wrote in their statement that, “This won’t be his last release, but these are the final ten songs Gord sang before he passed away. The last time he ever sang into a mic. That’s pretty special to us.”

Downie’s song Lou contributed drum fills while his two daughters Clare and Willo created the album’s artwork.

Two songs, “Hotel Worth” and “Useless Nights”, were released as part of the announcement. Take a listen below.


Away is Mine tracklisting:

Disc One:

1. Hotel Worth

2. Useless Nights

3. I Am Lost

4. About Blank

5. River Don’t Care

6. The Least Impossible

7. Traffic Is Magic

8. Away Is Mine

9. No Solace

10. Untitled

Disc Two:

11. Hotel Worth (Acoustic)

12. Useless Nights (Acoustic)

13. I Am Lost (Acoustic)

14. About Blank (Acoustic)

15. River Don’t Care (Acoustic)

16. The Least Impossible (Acoustic)

17. Traffic Is Magic (Acoustic)

18. Away Is Mine (Acoustic)

19. No Solace (Acoustic)

20. Untitled (Acoustic)

Away is Mine arrives on October 16 via Arts & Crafts.

Filed under: Gord Downie, New Music Discovery, New Music Discovery Show