Last month, The Tragically Hip revealed what they had been teasing on social media for so long. On October 16, Gord Downie’s album, Away is Mine, will arrive posthumously.

“Hotel Worth” and “Useless Nights”, were released as part of the announcement, but this week another song from the album has been released. The track is called “About Blank”, and just like the other songs on the album, you can listen to the electric and acoustic version. With the release of the artistic music video, Gord Downie’s twitter page said “‘About Blank’ is about being the purest version of yourself.”

“This video explores shedding the unimportant, superficial layers that we use as a mask to face the world and finding what’s left underneath. Unburdened by superficiality, there is freedom with being just about blank.”

You can watch the video below.

The songs were recorded at the Hip’s Bathhouse Studios in August 2017, a mere two months before he passed away in October 2017.

Guitarist/co-writer Josh Finlayson and Downie’s brother Patrick wrote in their statement that, “This won’t be his last release, but these are the final ten songs Gord sang before he passed away. The last time he ever sang into a mic. That’s pretty special to us.”

Downie’s son Lou contributed drum fills while his two daughters Clare and Willo created the album’s artwork.

Away is Mine tracklisting:

Disc One:

1. Hotel Worth

2. Useless Nights

3. I Am Lost

4. About Blank

5. River Don’t Care

6. The Least Impossible

7. Traffic Is Magic

8. Away Is Mine

9. No Solace

10. Untitled

Disc Two:

11. Hotel Worth (Acoustic)

12. Useless Nights (Acoustic)

13. I Am Lost (Acoustic)

14. About Blank (Acoustic)

15. River Don’t Care (Acoustic)

16. The Least Impossible (Acoustic)

17. Traffic Is Magic (Acoustic)

18. Away Is Mine (Acoustic)

19. No Solace (Acoustic)

20. Untitled (Acoustic)

Away is Mine arrives on October 16 via Arts & Crafts.


Filed under: Discover New Music, Gord Downie, New Music Discovery