Vampire Weekend have officially returned with the announcement of their fifth studio album, Only God Was Above Us. 

The announcement comes just days after the band began teasing new music with the caption “OGWAU”.

The album will feature ten new tracks inspired by 20th-century New York City. Recorded in Manhattan, Los Angeles, London, and Tokyo, the record will be released on April 5.

The album’s title was inspired by the photograph used as the LP’s cover art. The images were taken in 1988 by Steven Siegel at a subway graveyard in New Jersey. In the photo, a man reads the May 1, 1988 edition of The New York Daily News, with the headline “Only God Was Above Us”, in reference to the explosion of Aloha Airline Flight 243.

Check out the tracklist below and pre-order/pre-save the album here.

Only God Was Above Us tracklist:

  1. Ice Cream Piano
  2. Classical
  3. Capricorn
  4. Connect
  5. Prep-School Gangsters
  6. The Surfer
  7. Gen-X Cops
  8. Mary Boone
  9. Pravda
  10. Hope